Sports briefs

Blacksburg girls win SWVA swim invite

The Blacksburg girls’ swim team took Saturday’s Southwest Virginia High School Invitational held at the Christiansburg Aquatics Center.

Blacksburg collected 398 points to second place Science Hill’s 347. Patrick Henry finished third, Albemarle fourth and Salem fifth. Host Christiansburg was 12th, Carroll 20th and Pulaski 21st out of 25 teams.

On the boys’ side of the pool, Albemarle took the team title with 378 points followed by Science Hill with 344.5 and Blacksburg with 296 points. Christiansburg finished 14th and Radford High School 18th.

Two Mustangs first team

Eastern Montgomery placed two players on the Pioneer District first team offense announced Friday. Wide receiver Aaron Felty and running back Devin Owens were named to the first team offense.

Offensive linemen Cole Shepherd and Shawn Benjamin were named honorable mention offense.

The second team defense included Eastern Montgomery Linebacker Matthew McClemon and defensive back Zach Sledd who was also named second team punter.

All-Pioneer volleyball

Eastern Montgomery High School placed two players on the Pioneer All-District volleyball team announced Thursday. Ellie Underwood was named to the second team, while Paige Johnston and Maria Wilson were honorable mention.

Hokie recruit on USA Today team

USA TODAY High School Sports revealed the 2017-18 American Family Insurance ALL-USA Preseason Girls Basketball Team Thursday, with the selection of 20 players. Virginia Tech signee Dara Mabrey, a 5-foot-7 guard from Manasquan, New Jersey was among the 20 honored.

The team was selected by USA TODAY Sports’ Jim Halley in consultation with various recruiting analysts and high school coaches.

Mabrey averaged 19.8 points per game in her junior season, while also grabbing 3.5 rebounds and 2.4 steals. She was named the Gatorade Player of the Year for the state of New Jersey.

Sun Bowl to honor Beamer

The Sun Bowl Association and Hyundai have announced that former Virginia Tech player and head coach Frank Beamer and the CBS Network are the 2017 Legends of the Sun Bowl for the 84th Annual Hyundai Sun Bowl.

Frank Beamer retired from Virginia Tech in 2015 with an impressive record of 238-121-2 at his alma mater. Virginia Tech found plenty of success under Beamer as it made 23 consecutive bowl appearances, including an appearance in the 80th Annual Hyundai Sun Bowl in 2013. The Hokies have since extended that streak to 25 consecutive seasons, the longest active bowl streak in the nation and the third-longest in NCAA history.

more recommended stories