Auburn, Blacksburg claim Wells Fargo Cup

Auburn, Maggie Walker, Western Albemarle, Blacksburg, Deep Run, and Cosby all re-claimed the top spots again from the previous year in VHSL athletic competition for the 2018-19 school year winning the coveted Wells Fargo Cup for Classes 1 through 6.  This is the first time in Cup history that all six schools repeated as Cup champions during the current six classification system. It happened once during the three-classification system (2008-09 and 2009-10). See below for year-by-year results.

Notables include – Auburn won its third Cup in three years in Class 1 winning six state titles (Boys/Girls Cross Country, Girls Soccer, Girls Tennis, Baseball, and softball) …Maggie Walker earned its sixth straight Cup in Class 2 while winning nine state titles (Boys Cross Country, Girls Swimming, Boys/Girls Indoor Track, Boys/Girls Outdoor Track, Girls Soccer, and Boys/Girls Tennis …In Class 3, Western Albemarle claimed the schools’ 5th Cup title winning eight state titles (Boys Cross Country, Boys/Girls Swimming, Girls Indoor Track, Boys/Girls Soccer, Boys/Girls Tennis) …In Class 4, Blacksburg won 3 state titles (Boys Swimming, Girls Indoor Track, and Girls Outdoor Track) and earned the school’s 14th Cup title, fourth straight, and ninth in the past 11 years …Deep Run won its third straight Cup title in Class 5 and won 3 state titles (Boys Cross Country, Golf, and Girls Tennis) …Cosby won for the third time in Class 6.

First awarded in 1990, the Wells Fargo Cup goes to the school in each group classification that has achieved the best overall record in VHSL state-level competition in 27 sports – the state champions’ state champion.

Cups are presented for athletic and academic activities to the top school in each of the League’s enrollment Classifications.  George Wythe-Wytheville, Maggie Walker, Turner Ashby, Blacksburg, Massaponax, and James Robinson were announced earlier as 2018-19 winners for academic activities.

The winner of the Wells Fargo Cup is determined by a point system based on performance in state championship events.

Points are awarded for all sanctioned sports in the following manner.

First place                     50                   Fifth place                     30

Second place                45                   Sixth place                     25

Third place                    40                   Seventh place               20

Fourth place                 35                   Eighth place                  1

In the event of a tie, the schools received an equal number of points based on the number of schools that tie and the number schools that finish higher in the standings.  For example, semifinal losers split third and fourth place points (37.5 points each).

Schools earning the League’s Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Award earn 50 points each.

Cosby athletes scored a total of 352.5 points to win the Class 6 crown, with James River-Midlothian finishing second with 315 points.  Cosby scored 195 points in the fall followed by 45 points in the winter and 195 points in the spring. Rounding out the top five in Class 6 were James Robinson (307.5), James Madison (295), and First Colonial (287.5).

In Class 5, Deep Run claimed the top spot accumulating 550 points followed by Freedom-South Riding (347.5), Mills Godwin (245), Maury (295), and Princess Anne (277.5). Deep Run totaled 280 fall points, 47.5 winter points, and 22.5 spring points.

In Class 4, Blacksburg totaled 610 points. The Bruins earned 205 fall points, followed by 190 points in the winter, and 215 points in the spring.  Riverside finished second with 465 points, followed by Loudoun Valley with 385 points, Midlothian with 371.25 points, and Grafton rounding out the top five with 277.5 points each.

In Class 3, Western Albemarle accumulated 777.5 points to claim the top spot. The Warriors totaled 142.5 points in the fall followed by 217.5 points in the winter and 417.5 points in the spring.  Tabb (462.5), Brentsville District (347.5), Hidden Valley (337.5), and York (302.5) rounded out the top five in the Class 3 Cup final standings.

Maggie Walker won athletic honors for the sixth straight year in Class 2 scoring 667.5 points followed by five-time Cup champion George Mason in second place with 415 points.  The Dragons were a model of consistency throughout the year scoring 112.5 points in the fall; 232.5 points in the winter, and 322.5 points in the spring. Rounding out the top five was seven-time Cup champion Radford (322.5), Poquoson (247.5), and East Rockingham (210).

In Class 1, Auburn returned to the top spot earning 605 points. The Eagles scored 182.5 fall points followed by 87.5 winter points, and 335 spring points. Riverheads (357.5), George Wythe-Wytheville (260), Galax (240), and Lancaster (240) filled out the remaining spots in the top five.

“We congratulate all the schools who competed in this year’s VHSL championship events,” said John W. “Billy” Haun, Ed.D., VHSL executive director.  “We especially congratulate the best of the best and we thank Wells Fargo for supporting this important recognition.”

The Wells Fargo Cup athletic and academic winners will be recognized during VHSL Day at a University of Virginia football game and Virginia Tech football game this fall.

more recommended stories