Radford High School Foundation awards more than $20,000 in scholarships this year

Radford High School Principal Jeff Smith (at left), and Abie Williams, chairman of the Radford High School Foundation, Inc. (at right) are pictured with Samuel Lawrence Dent and Emma Kate Green winners of the inaugural Charles E. Fretwell Endowed Scholarship. The Radford High School Foundation, Inc. awarded $27,150 through 15 scholarships to RHS graduates at the recent 40th annual Academic Awards Assembly at the school.

RADFORD – Since 1986, the Radford High School Foundation, Inc has been supporting academics, athletics and facilties in Radford City Schools.

The Foundation recently awarded this year’s batch of scholarships to graduating RHS seniors during the school’s academic awards ceremony, doling out $27,150 through 15 scholarships, including the inaugural award of the Charles E. Fretwell Endowed Scholarship.

Other scholarship funds include the:

Mary S.Shelburne Memorial Scholarship

Brian T. Hannifan Memorial Scholarship Fund

Roy and Mayme Epperly Scholarship Fund

Lois Carr Education Scholarship

Dana Palmer Endowment

Richard P. “Dick” Price Memorial Scholarship

Nell M. Price Memorial Scholarship

Sally Hendrix Memorial Scholarship

Sevareid Memorial Scholarship

4909 Basketball Honorarium Scholarship

Allen “Big Al” Hall Scholarship Fund

Benny C. Ridpath Memorial Scholarship

Nell Collins Hatcher Memorial Scholarship

The Radford High School Foundation, Inc. was formed as a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization in 1986 “for the purpose of supporting and enhancing Radford’s already successful school system.”

“The foundation began as primarily an academic supporter, but has been able to further major athletic facility initiatives by acting as liaison in public/private projects,” according tot he organization’s website. “The foundation has also donated more than $510,000 in classroom grants and scholarships to all four of the city schools,” (not including the current year).


– Heather Bell