Sports briefs


Beamer adds Enberg award

A first-ballot selection to the College Football Hall of Fame, Frank Beamer will add another honor to his growing list of lifetime accolades when he receives the 23rd annual Dick Enberg Award presented by CoSIDA at on June 10 at its annual convention in Orlando.

Established in 1997, the Dick Enberg Award is given annually to a person whose actions and commitment have furthered the meaning and reach of the CoSIDA Academic All-America® Teams Program and/or the student-athlete while promoting the values of education and academics.

The award was created in part to recognize the late broadcaster’s passion and support of the Academic All-America® program and more importantly, his dedication to education for more than four decades. Past winners have included President Gerald Ford, Tom Osborne, Pat Summit, Dean Smith and Mike Krzyzewski.

Yanks to honor veterans

The Pulaski Yankees are excited to introduce the Veteran of the Night program to honor one military member at each home game during the 2019 season. The team is asking the public to nominate either a veteran or current member of the military they would like to see recognized at Calfee Park.

The Veteran of the Night will receive two (2) tickets to the game during which they will be recognized, as well as a free meal at the ballpark.

Fans wishing to nominate a Veteran of the Night should complete the nomination form on Completed forms can be returned via email to, by mail to PO Box 852 in Pulaski, VA 24301, or in person at the team’s Calfee Park offices.