Riner’s Vance wins Blue Ridge Junior event

Photos courtesy of BRJG
The Blue Ridge Junior Golf Tour made its way to the River Course in Radford. Winners pictured with the finishes included: (from left) Abby Peterson, Ben Anderson, Andrew Goad, Mike Cole (River Course Assistant Pro), Tanner Matheny and Jack Davis.

Sixty Blue Ridge Junior Golf Tour players invaded the Pete Dye River Course of Virginia Tech Monday, July 10.

An ample supply of eager volunteers accommodated the juniors making the day a memorable experience.

Here are the results:

16-18 Age Group, Par 72, 6495 Yards

Carter Vance of Riner won for the third time this season with a score of one over par 73. Vance had an inauspicious start making double bogey on the opening hole, but made 14 pars and 2 birdies in his round to finish two shots better than Noah Clark of Pearisburg. Bluefield College signee Jacob Owens of Whitewood was third with a score of 76.

14-15 Age Group, Par 72, 5903 Yards

Grant Rosenbaum of Wytheville won the age group for the first time this season with a score of 79. Rosenbaum played just a bit better than Bryce Sparks of Tazewell, Sam VanDyne of Max Meadows and Seth Walker of Christiansburg who tied for second with scores of 80.

12-13 Age Group, Par 72, 5142 Yards

Tanner Walls of Matheny, WV won the age group again with a score of 90. He was seven shots better than Jack Davis of Radford. Joe Tyson of Bluefield was third with a score of 108.

10-12 Age Group, Par 36, 2589 Yards

Jake Albert of Riner won the age group again with a nine-hole score of 91. Benson Blevins was second with a score of 44 followed by Walker Gillespie of Pearisburg.

9 and Under Age Group, Par 36, 1935 Yards

David Goode of Wytheville won the age group with a score of 45. Grant McCall of Richlands was a shot back in second place with a 46. William Ballard of Pearisburg was third with a score of 64.

The Tour returns to action on Monday July 17 at Blacksburg Country Club.

Other winners of the Blue Ridge Junior Golf Tour’s play this week at the River Course in Radford included: (from left) Front row- Grant McCall, William Ballard, Cooper Hurst and David Goode; Back row- Dylllan Blankenship, Roger McClanahan, Carter Vance, Mike Cole, Benson Blevins, and Jake Albert.